Born Feet First

Malted Garbanzo or Black Bean Brownies

Posted by BornFeetFirst on August 5, 2010

Brownies made with beans? They’re fantastically moist and tasty. My 6-year-old neighbor loved them, even after learning the true nature of the secret ingredient.

Here’s my recipe.

4 eggs

2 cups garbanzo beans, rinsed & drained (OR, 2 cups black beans, rinsed & drained)

1 1/2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted

1/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 granulated sugar

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp vanilla

*1/4 cup malt powder such as Horlicks, Carnation, or Ovaltine – optional. Malt powders are not gluten free.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a 9×9 cake pan.

Put eggs and beans into a blender or food processor and pulse or blend a few seconds. Add sugars, baking powder, vanilla and malt powder to the mix and blend until smooth. Add melted chocolate and blend until just mixed in. Pour into prepared pan and bake for 35-45 minutes.

For gluten free brownies, leave out the malt powder. But, you can add in whatever other ingredients you like in your brownies: 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp almond extract, or  1/2 cup of coconut. You could dust them with some powdered sugar after they’ve cooled for a pretty presentation, or when they’re still warm, top them with some marshmallows and put them under the broiler to brown the topping. Just be sure your pan is broiler safe. The options are endless.

Give the recipe a try. Tell me what modifications you make and how you like it.

7 Responses to “Malted Garbanzo or Black Bean Brownies”

  1. [...] Would you like some “special” chocolate brownies? Now, I know what you’re thinking.  No, these are not the kind of brownies that have a dried green leafy raw material in them that would flag me during a random drug test.  So what makes these brownies so “special”?  The key ingredient, other than chocolate of course, is one that makes you assume the baker is a tie-die wearing, granola eating, Birkenstock wearing hippie wannabe.  They are gluten free, high in fiber, and high in protein.  In short, safe for somebody with celiac disease to consume, assuming you leave out the Ovaltine.  They could even be considered moderately healthy.  Sound disgusting?  Trust me, they aren’t.  They are just as dangerous to somebody with an inability to restrain chocolate intake as any “normal” brownie.   Everybody who has tried them, including our neighbor’s 6 year old, has wolfed down several more even after finding out what the secret ingredient is.  To find out, however, you’re going to have to read the recipe on my wife’s blog. [...]

  2. Marc said

    You guys are nuts!

  3. I’m gonna have to try these. Found you via your husband’s blog.

  4. I am baking these right now for dinner at a friend’s house. They eat completely gluten free so I was so happy to find this recipe. I will let you know how it goes. I also found your blog through your husband’s (I work at Verity Credit Union and he wrote a very nice bit about us on his blog). And, I also did my first marathon in my 40th year! Don’t give up because you can do it! Even if you are slow, even if you have to walk some of it, it was so much fun and I am so glad I did it. I got a cold the week before and thought I might have to quit, but I reeled in my training a bit that last week and still managed to finish. That is one thing I might advise, focus on the goal – finishing the marathon – and not too much on the training. Even if you don’t complete the training program as suggested you can still finish the race! I’ll be checking back and pulling for you! Lara

    • I hope you and your friends like the brownies! They’re super moist.

      Thanks for the encouragement on the marathon. I have suddenly become quite nervous about the whole thing. I will definitely be walking parts of the race and I do really want to finish it. Keep your fingers crossed!

      Thanks for reading.

  5. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically
    tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

